2015-06-07 15:39

The IEEE South Africa Section is proud to announce that Dr Albert Lysko is now the vice-chair of the section.

A summary of Dr Lysko's IEEE and related involvement is below.



Dr Albert Lysko

(Nominated for the position of “Vice Chair IEEE South Africa Section” by IEEE South Africa Communications and Signal Processing Joint Chapter Chair Professor Sunil (BT) Maharaj)


Brief bio:

2015-05-07 19:36

The UNESCO/Poland Co-Sponsored Fellowships Programme in Engineering, cycle 2015, is hereby calling for nominations. The Polish National Commission for UNESCO and the UNESCO Chair for Science, Technology and Engineering Education at the AGH University of Science and Technology in Krakow have placed at the disposal of certain Member States (see Annex I) forty-five (45) fellowships of six (6) months duration each, in Poland, starting on 1 October 2015.

2015-04-02 16:47

Dear Stakeholders

The above matter refers.

In February we called for interested registered persons to come forward to be part of the ECSA data base of engineering Experts.

These experts would be used for investigations as well as tribunal members in disciplinary hearings.

We advertised in two newspapers however we received dismal feedback in in terms of applications.

The total application received is not even close to what we need to effectively improve turnaround times for investigations and disciplinary hearings.

2015-03-19 07:45

IEEE AFRICON is IEEE’s flagship conference of the African continent and provides a platform for academics and industry professionals, from all over the world, to share ideas and present their latest research.

IEEE AFRICON 2015 will be held on the historic UNECA Conference Center, in Addis Ababa, from 14–17 September 2015. The theme of the conference is “GREEN INNOVATION FOR AFRICAN RENAISSANCE” and the event will feature a comprehensive technical program with distinguished keynote speakers and a vibrant social program.

Important dates for paper:

2015-02-04 19:39

The Control Systems & Robotics and Automation joint chapter has been dormant for some time now.

The section chair has nominated Dr Benjamin Rosman for the position of chair of the joint chapter. As such, the IEEE South Africa Section is seeking any additonal nominations for the position of joint chapter: Control Systems & Robotics and Automation chair. The deadline for submissions is Friday 6 February. Click to submit nominations.

2015-02-02 21:01

The deadline for submissions of nominations for the SAIEE-IEEE joint distinguished volunteer award has been extended to Friday 6 February.

2015-01-15 19:48

The South African Section proudly congratulates Lebogang Madise on being appointed as the Region 8 student branch coordinator.

We wish her all the best for this new role.


2014-11-25 06:49

24 November 2014: The IEEE South Africa section is proud to announce that Elon R Musk has been selected to become an IEEE Honorary Member in 2015.

2014-11-13 07:34

Region 8 Young Professionals Subcommittee have decided to give David Oyedokun of the South Africa Section a special recognition to acknowledge his achievements regarding IEEE Young Professionals .

For the first time of the Young Professionals Exceptional Volunteer Award the IEEE decided to award two special distinctions for all the great work David and his Affinity group is doing for the South Africa (Southern Region)

2014-10-03 08:12

We have a twitter account.

Please follow us on @IEEE_ZA (Tech South Africa).

Please contact us to notify our followers should something of importance arise.


Subscribe to News